St Breock Governance

Since September 2015, St Breock joined Aspire Multi Academy Trust and formed the North Hub with St. Minver and Padstow primary schools. These schools are our geographic neighbours and are schools of a similar profile and size.

At the same time a Hub Council was established across the three schools with two representatives from each school. These Hub Councillors have specific responsibility for, in particular, standards and safeguarding and provide each school with significant challenge and support using benchmarking as useful indicators of performance.

The Hub Councillors for St Breock are:

Graham Renwick – Graham has a background in business management and brings a wealth of experience in this field and in personnel and recruitment. Graham was formerly Chairman of Governors and so has an embedded understanding of school performance. Graham is Chairman of the North Hub Council and is also a member of the board of trustees of Aspire MAT.

Helen Eustice: Helen was formerly a parent governor and is the eyes and ears of the parents. Having three children, two of whom are currently pupils means that Helen is able to challenge the provision and secure the best for the children. Helen’s professional background makes her perfect in her role of also securing the best for staff well-being and development.

Both of our Hub Councillors have received extensive training over the past year in PREVENT, Safer recruitment, Safeguarding, FGM.

The remaining governing body members acted as a local advisory group for one academic year and ensured that there was consistency in challenge as the Hub Council members established their working practices.

At the end of the academic year 2015/2016 it was decided that the local advisory group would form the nucleus of the School Forum and would have specific responsibility for driving a school development priority which had been identified as requiring attention by parents.

Former Governors and Local Advisory Group Members who are now leading the School Forum are:

Bruce Fisher

Parent Governor

Tammy Saltern

Parent Governor

Dave Abbiss

Parent Governor

Sarah Hodge

Community Governor

Nick Pickles

Community Governor

Lorraine Weedon

School Business Manager

Jo Rodwell

Assistant Headteacher

rsz clipart of 15195 sm 2